Responsive Image

World Uyghur Congress 4th General Assembly

World Uyghur Congress Fourth General Assembly


The World Uyghur Congress (WUC) successfully held its 4th General Assembly in Tokyo, Japan, from May 14 to 17, attended by more than 120 Uyghur delegates from 20 countries around the world. During the four-day assembly, delegates in six commissions discussed new strategies for the peaceful promotion of human rights and democracy for the Uyghur people, in light of China’s current political conditions and its upcoming change of political leadership later this year. They also held a peaceful protest in front of the Chinese Embassy in Tokyo with the participation of Japanese supporters. During the rally, a representative delivered a letter to the Chinese government calling for an end to ongoing grave human rights abuses suffered by Uyghurs in their homeland. Japanese and international media covered the protest.

During the Assembly, Uyghur delegates also elected a new WUC leadership. Uyghur democracy leader Ms. Rebiya Kadeer was re-elected as WUC President.

“I am grateful to the representatives of Uyghur people around the world for placing their trust in me once again. Under my leadership, the World Uyghur Congress will continue to use nonviolent and peaceful means to promote the democratic rights of the Uyghur people,” said Uyghur democracy leader Rebiya Kadeer.

“I call on the Chinese government to end its highly repressive and systematic assimilationist policies in East Turkestan, as well as in Tibet and Southern Mongolia. I urge Chinese leaders to seriously consider the legitimate demands of Uyghurs, Tibetans and Mongols, as well as those of the Chinese people, for human rights and democratic reform, and to resolve the political questions of East Turkestan, Tibet and Southern Mongolia through peaceful negotiation.”

PresidentMs Rebiya Kadeer (USA)
Vice PresidentMr Seyit Tumturk (Turkey)
Mr Omer Kanat (USA)
Mr Ümit Hamit (Germany)
Mr Abdureshit Turdiev (Kazakhstan)
Mr Memtimin Ala (Australia)
Mr Asgar Can (Germany)
Chairman of Executive CommitteeMr Dolkun Isa (Germany)
Vice ChairmenDr Erkin Emet (Turkey)
Mr Nurmuhammad Majid (Australia)
Chief Inspector/AuditorMr Nurmamat Rozahun (Germany)
Secretary GeneralMr Nuri Musabay (USA)
Vice General SecretaryMr Abdijelil Turan (Turkey)
Mr Tuyghun Abdiweli (Canada)
Mr Abdukayum Masimov (Canada)
SpokespersonsMr Dilxat Rexit (Sweden)
Mr Alim Seytoff (USA)
Chief Advisor of WUCMr Riya Semedi (Kazakhstan)
Special Representative of WUC to Central AsiaMr Cacharman Hojamberdiev (Kazakhstan)
Representative of WUC on Kyrgyzstan Mr Rozimemet Abdilbakiev (Kyrgyzstan)
Director of TreasuryMr Umut Tursun (Germany)
Director of Information and Publication CenterMr Perhat Muhemmed (Germany)
Director of Education and Culture CommitteeMr Ablimit Tursun (Germany)
Director of Religious Affairs CommitteeMr Turghunjan Atawulla (Germany)
Director of Research Center Mr Enver Ehmet (Germany)
Uyghur Refuge CenterMr Heyrulla Efendigil (Turkey)
Director of Women’s CommitteeMs Zubayra Shamshiddin (USA)
Director of Youth Committee Mr Gheyur Qurban (Germany)