Responsive Image

WUC Welcomes the New Sanctions Imposed on Chinese Officials and Entity

WUC Welcomes the New Sanctions Imposed on Chinese Officials and Entity

Statement – For immediate release
9 July 2020
Contact: World Uyghur Congress
+49 89 5432 1999 or [email protected]

Today, the U.S. Department of the Treasury’s Office of Foreign Assets Control (OFAC) sanctioned one Chinese government entity, as well as four government officials involved in human rights violations against the Uyghur people in East Turkistan. The sanctioned entity is the Xinjiang Public Security Bureau (XPSB), and the officials are Chen Quanguo, the Communist Party Secretary of the Uyghur region, Zhu Hailun, a former Deputy Party Secretary of the region, Wang Mingshan, the current Director and Communist Party Secretary of the XPSB, and, Huo Liujun, the former Party Secretary of the XPSB.

This action was taken under the Global Magnitsky Human Rights Accountability Act. Consequently, the property and interests of those mentioned above will be blocked and must be reported to OFAC. For more details on the sanctions, please read here.

In response to the sanctions imposed by the U.S. government, the President of the World Uyghur Congress, Dolkun Isa said: ‘’ This action comes on the heels of the newly signed Uyghur Human Rights Policy Act, and it is a major step to ensuring justice and accountability for the ongoing committed by the CCP against Uyghurs. These sanctions will let the CCP know that they will no longer commit atrocities against Uyghur with impunity. We thank the US government for this vital step and urge other world leaders to follow suit. Only through concrete action like this can we stop the Uyghur genocide and end the suffering of the Uyghur people.’’

The World Uyghur Congress welcomes this decision and hopes this will incite other States to hold Chinese officials responsible for the ongoing genocide faced by the Uyghur people in East Turkistan.  

World Uyghur Congress